Welcome to Jane Clarke's Poetry website


Jane Clarke's first collection, The River, is published by Bloodaxe Books.

Originally from a farm in Roscommon, Jane now lives near Glenmalure, Co. Wicklow. In 2016 she won the inaugural Listowel Writers' Week Poem of the Year at the Irish Book Awards, the Hennessy Literary Award for Emerging Poetry and was shortlisted for the Royal Society for Literature Ondaatje Award. She also won the 2014 Listowel Writers' Week Poetry Collection Award, the 2014 Trocaire/Poetry Ireland Competition, the inaugural Poems for Patience, 2013; Listowel Writers' Week (2007) and the iYeats (2010) and was shortlisted for the 2013 & 2014 Hennessy Literary Awards.

She has had poems published in The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, The Irish Times, Irish Independent, Poetry Ireland Review, New Hibernia Review, Resurgence & Ecologist Magazine, Acumen, Agenda, Abridged, The North, The Rialto, Ambit, One, Prelude, Poetry Wales, Mslexia, The Compass Magazine, High Windows Journal, Envoi, Southword, THE SHOp, Cyphers, The Stinging Fly, Crannog, The Irish Literary Review, The Stony Thursday Book, Skylight 47, The Interpreter's House, The Galway Review, Revival, Roscommon Herald and Leitrim Observer. She has also had poems broadcast on RTE Radio 1's Sunday Miscellany, Arena and the Poetry Programme.


Jane’s poems have a two-fold quality of tenderness – not simply their affectionate respect for people and for ways of life, but also the courage to go close to the raw places, facing the grief and unease which comes from loving what can be or already has been lost.

- Philip Gross, Winner of the T.S. Eliot Prize 2009

joomla template


Jane will give a number of readings & workshops in Ireland, the UK and the US over the next six months.

Co. Wicklow

Reading at the Space Inside in Wicklow Sailing Club on Tuesday 4 April 2017 at 8 pm.

Reading as part of the Comhaltas Concert in the Tramway Theatre, Blessington on Saturday 11 March 2017 at 7 pm.

Reading as part of Féile Londubh Festival in Nun's Cross Church, Ashford on Saturday 29 April 2017.


Co. Antrim

Reading & Workshop in Ballycastle on Saturday 8 April 2017, courtesy of Ballycastle Writers.


Boston, USA

Reading in Hingham, Massachusetts on Thursday 11 May 2017.

Workshop in Boston on Saturday 13 May 2017.


Co. Kerry

Reading at Listowel Writers' Week, 31 May - 4 June, 2017



Jane is one of the judges for the Poetry Ireland/Trocaire Poetry Competition 2017. Entry details here.

Jane's poem, 'In Glasnevin', first published in The Irish Times, won the inaugural Irish Poem of the Year Award 2016 at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards. Here's an interview from the awards night.

Jane has a poem in the new anthology in honour of Eavan Boland from Arlen House, Washing Windows? Irish Women Write Poetry. She also has a new poem in the recent issue of Prelude, a New York based journal.

The River was chosen as one of the 28 best poetry collections on a US blog for 2016 - you can read the selection here.

To mark Remembrance Sunday, the Mary Evans Picture Library featured one of Jane Clarke's new poems here.

'Who owns the field?' from The River was the featured poem on the RTE website, September 17th 2016.

Jane Clarke won the 2016 Hennessy Literary Award for Poetry with three poems from The River, 'For Isobel', 'The Blue Bible' and 'Every Tree'. Poet and novelist, Paul Perry gave the judges' commentary: "The winner emerged with a clarity, a hard-earned singularity - a quiet modest voice, one which has an integrity of the lived life to it - neither showy, nor glib, no tricks, or easy punch-lines - but a definite and respectful sense of tradition. Fine detail marked these poems out, 'the fishtail chisel with its shallow sweep', 'the fiddleback grain'. Here are poems of memory, of childhood and affection, written with lyrical grace, finesse and elegance."

The River was shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize 2016, for "a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry evoking the spirit of a place." One of the three judges, poet Moniza Alvi, praised the "quiet, lucid, subtle poems, nevertheless urgent in their presentation of a farming background in rural Ireland, and the poet's enduring attachment to it."

Jane is featured with a poem from The River, photographs and an interview in the August 2016 issue of Elementum, a new journal of nature and story.

To celebrate National Poetry Day UK, Hazel Bourke wrote a response to 'Back of an Envelope" from The River.

Jane is also featured with an interview and a poem from The River in a new documentary about the river Suck.

Jane has two new poems & an interview in the current special issue of Poetry Ireland Review: The Rising Generation.

A poem from The River is included in a new collection of essays about Yeats, published by Lilliput Press & edited by Declan Foley: Yeats 150.

Jane reviewed an important new study in the Dublin Review of Books, Contemporary Irish Women Poets: Memory and Estrangement by Lucy Collins, Liverpool University Press.